Inaugural members of Waratah Community Board appointed

19 April 2018

The inaugural members of the Waratah Community Board were announced at the Waratah-Wynyard Council meeting on Monday night.

Councillor’s voted to endorse Anne Dunham, Neil Thorne, Rosemary Dick and Yvette Ekman for a three-year term coinciding with the term of the current Waratah Community Plan.

Council commenced a public expression of interest process in February and received nine applications for consideration by the selection panel.

The selection panel consisted of Mayor Robby Walsh; Board Councillor Representative, Kevin Hyland; General Manager, Shane Crawford and Director Corporate and Community Services, Tracey Bradley.

Consultant David Hammond, who has been involved throughout the process of the Board establishment, also provided feedback on applications.

Waratah-Wynyard Mayor Robby Walsh said he was very pleased with the level of interest shown from the community.

“I think this will be a positive for the Waratah community to have a Board to work with Council and represent a unique area in our municipality,” he said.

“I don’t know of any other communities that have done something like this, so it’s very exciting to see.

“On behalf of Council I’d like to thank all those that applied for their interest.

“We’re now looking forward to building a strong working relationship with the Board.”

The establishment of the Community Board comes as a result of work on tourism development across the municipality in May 2017.

Waratah was identified as a centre of exceptional potential but held back by a lack of cohesive leadership in the community and a polarised relationship with Council.

The subsequent report identified the creation of a Community Board in Waratah functioning with the support of Council and focussed on achieving a Community Plan would provide an opportunity for the Waratah community to realise its tourism and community potential.

Community Board members will now undertake training in engagement skills and how to deal with difficult issues that may arise, prior to their first formal meeting.

Waratah Wynyard Council
21 Saunders Street : PO Box 168, Wynyard TAS 7325
Phone (03) 6443 8333 : Fax (03) 6443 8383 : Email:
contact us
Decrease font sizeReset font sizeIncrease font size